Skip to content ↓

Nottingham Academy

About Us

We are an aspirational and inclusive Academy committed to our Respect Values.  Through an inspirational curriculum we facilitate great learning, exceptional progress and the development of character. We ensure all pupils achieve their potential and are ready for the next stage in their learning, training or employment.

Nottingham Academy is a very large organisation with new and refurbished buildings and a capacity for 3780 pupils. The Academy opened in September 2009 on the three sites of its predecessor schools, Greenwood Dale 11-19, Elliott Durham 11-16 and Jesse Boot 3-11. It is one of only a handful of all-through 3-19 schools in the country with its own nursery, primary, secondary and sixth form provision.

As the Academy is so large it is organised on a 'schools within a school' model, each school has a Principal, and the  Lead Principal oversees leads and manages the whole Academy.

There are three sites of the Academy. Two sites serve the Sneinton and Bakersfield areas and the third serves the Mapperley and St Anns areas:

Greenwood Campus
Site 1 Greenwood Road, includes primary year groups from Nursery through to year 3 and secondary year groups 9 through to Post 16 provision.
Site 2 Sneinton Boulevard – includes primary year groups year 4 to year 6 and secondary year groups 7 and 8.
Wells Academy Campus 
Year groups 7 – 11 with a dedicated year 7 and 8 base on site.
Although operating across these three sites, the dedicated team of Academy staff, Primary phase, Secondary phase and also those working in the Academy Sixth Form Centre work closely together to make sure the Nottingham Academy remains an outstanding organisation.

Pupil numbers in each year at the Nottingham Academy, September 2017 are as follows:

  Greenwood Campus         Wells Campus
Year 7       246   138
Year 8 233   154
Year 9 244   138
Year 10 233   130
Year 11 230   108
Year 12 76   N/A
Year 13/14   99   N/A

This Academy is sponsored by the Greenwood Academies Trust which was formed in 2009 and now educates approximately 16,000 pupils across seven local authority areas including Nottingham City, Nottinghamshire, Leicester City, Northamptonshire, Peterborough, Lincolnshire and Central Bedfordshire.  

To find out more about the Trust click here